Till death (all of) us do part

Interrupting our series of amusing dysfunctional family survey incidents for this serious post by Beth Byrnes. She is a child psychologist, behavioral scientist, gardener, knitter, and baker among other things. I wish I could write half as well as she does, although I might be able to master her sugar cookies.

Beth Byrnes

This is what I would consider a ‘think piece’ and it is still a thinking-in-progress, really my mind working out loud, so please indulge me as I spin this.  

I have the rare opportunity to be forced out of my comfortable niche and into a foreign environment, little different from the one that Margaret Meade found when she chose to live among the Trobriand Islanders, not as one of them, not as a tourist, but as a scientist and silent observer, recorder of a culture so alien that every moment spent among them put her senses on high alert.  This is my little participant observer project in progress, while I am on a completely different mission as I explained last week.

kramer vs kramer 2When you hang around a courthouse you find out what is really going on in the world, out of public sight for the most part, rarely covered proportionally…

View original post 1,668 more words

One thought on “Till death (all of) us do part

Leave a Reply

